Forum SettingsEpisode Information
Forums
New
May 7, 2013 12:58 PM
Oct 2012
I have no spoilers, but I have a theory of this show I would like to discuss without "spoiling" what I think may be going on for people who would care.

Takuan_SohoMay 7, 2013 7:28 PM
May 7, 2013 11:34 PM
Site Admin
Aug 2012
Holy shit. As crazy as your theory sounds at first, it's also seems very plausible :o Then again, I'm not good with thinking critically, so at this point, I think anything is possible. Still if your theory were to be true, it would be a nice twist. This would also make sense since

"Gen Urobuchi explained on the official website that the message of the story is aimed towards those in their teens and 20s, who are either about to enter into society or recently have, and is meant to cheer them on and to encourage them that "going out into the world isn't scary". He also said that the feeling of this work will be different from others he's been involved with." [Although taken from Wikipedia, I asked my Japanese friend to confirm if this was really from the interview on the official site, and it's true]

I'm actually really hoping that your theory is correct, because now I'm expecting some great ending like your scenario. It would also explain the fact that episode 5 is in fact not merely a fanservice episode, but has a significance to it as part of something Ledo should experience to learn about life. A lot of people thought episode 5 was unnecessary, but it would be nice to know that it's there for a purpose.
May 7, 2013 11:46 PM
Nov 2008
That...makes some sense. I myself was wondering if it was some kind of loyalty training simulation. But that idea is frankly even more plausible.

Heh, when Gen says he's aiming this anime at people getting out of college and looking for a job, you could say Gargantia represents the hedonism and frivolity of college, and service in the Alliance represents the soul-crushing reality of life in the Japanese workforce.