Forums
New
Reply Disabled for Non-Club Members
Pages (17) « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » ... Last »
Jan 31, 2010 2:22 PM

Jun 2009
wilfried said:
A quick hi from Sweden!

I'm rather new to anime/manga having started about 18 months ago.

Hi Wilfried n welcome aboard the crazy train :P

Jan 31, 2010 2:34 PM

Jun 2008
Guess it's time for me to come outintroduce myself.

My name is Steve and I"m 43 years old single male living in Central Ohio.

My earliest recollection of anime was when I was a young lad in the early 70s when Speed Racer and Kimba the White Lion were THE anime at the time (also at the time it was called Japanation). All I knew was that I loved these shows. I didn't know they were anime. I would run home from school just to watch Speed Racer on a local channel in the Detroit area.

I had watched others along the way, again not knowing they were anime, or at least bastardized cutting up of animes. Such as Battle of the Planets and Card Captor Sukara. I remember a bit of SDF Macross. Other than these, my interest did wain because of the lack of anime on regular tv.

It wasn't until Cartoon Network and them showing Pokemon, then Naruto that my love for this animation style returned. That and seeing how bad US animation had become. I now watch at least 5-10 series at a time (not all at one). I already filled 750G of anime and working on another 1T worth. I have a lot of catching up to do.

I never did feel embarressed about my love of anime and manga. I'm a mechanical engineer so I'm not that odd. I might be one of a very small handful of people in the plant where I work that watch anime. We don't get into a lot of discussion mostly because we are very busy.

I"m glad to see I'm neither the oldest nor youngest fan of anime. I hope to have more discussion about it. Thanks for reaffirming that one never needs to grow up and leave this behind. I'll be watching this until they bury me in the ground.
Dodecahedron-O24Feb 15, 2010 4:18 AM